Put simply, a cluster is a group of firms that operate in the same sector, and in close geographical proximity to one another. A cluster may also have a range of support organisations, such as trade organisations, chambers of commerce, technical and training institutes, government agencies, universities and schools.

In 2014 the SA Government’s Department of State Development established the Industry Clusters Program to support local clusters across six key industries to drive greater collaboration, productivity and innovation within local industry to generate long-term economic and employment growth in South Australia. Medical devices is one of six key industry sectors to participate in the program.

For more information visit the Department of State Development website.

Have questions? Visit our FAQ page.